Vlatava 2D

Vlatava (German: Die Moldau) by Bedřich Smetana

Vlatava is the name of the longest river in the Czech Republic and is also the second of a set of six symphonic poems composed by the Czech composer Bedřich Smetana (1824-1884), which are known together as Má Vlast (My Homeland).

In Vlatava, composed in 1874, Smetana uses music to describe the course of the River Vlatava from its origin as a spring through to where it joins the River Elbe at the German border.

In their DLP Music lesson, 2D listened to Smetana’s piece and put their pictures to his music.

We discussed the mood and characteristics of each section as well as which images the composer was trying to evoke in each part. Each group visually interpreted a different section of the music. Mr Bauerstatter then merged the videos and stills of their work into one film and set it to Smetana’s piece.

We hope you enjoy watching our video!

Group 1: The spring
Group 2: The hunt
Group 3: The wedding
Group 4: Moonlight – fairy tales
Group 5: The rapids

Vlatava 2D (2022)